Numbers 7

Being Holy

Numbers 7:9

But Moses did not give any to the Kohathites because they were to carry on their shoulders the holy things, for which they were responsible.

Each of us is given to according to what God has made us responsible for. Does it seem that God has given me nothing? Then he has given me the most difficult and most precious responsibility of all: to be holy unto Him.

What does it mean to me to bear on my shoulders the holy things? The weight is on me alone. I cannot rely on the gifts and talents he has given others; my responsibility is different. I must shoulder the weight on my own and do the work without any assistance so that at the end of it all I can only rely on Him. This is being holy: being set apart from all else until I am His alone. He gives me nothing because the gifts He gives others would only hinder my holy task and hinder my own holiness before Him.

Do I feel inadequate in the task that is before me? May I remember that in His mercy God has not allowed me to rely on the “adequacies” that others may have been gifted with for this task so that I will rely wholly on Him to do what others can do on their own. At the end, He will receive the glory, not me. May this give me confidence to move forward in His strength:

“My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” – 1 Cor. 12:9

Leave a comment