Numbers 12

The Lord Himself Will Defend You

Miriam and Aaron began to talk against Moses because of his Cushite wife, for he had married a Cushite. “Has the Lord spoken only through Moses?” they asked. “Hasn’t he also spoken through us?” And the Lord heard this. 

(Now Moses was a very humble man, more humble than anyone else on the face of the earth.) – Numbers 12:1-3

God knew the state of Moses’ heart. He knew how humble and perhaps even insecure Moses was, and that Moses had still obeyed God in leading the Israelites, not for his own glory but out of simple obedience to God. So when Miriam and Aaron (note that Miriam is named first, meaning she may have been the instigator and Aaron may have simply been going along with it which may be why she is punished rather than Aaron) begin to complain and speak against Moses because they were envious of his position, the Lord Himself comes to Moses’ defense. Moses doesn’t even need to speak for himself, instead, God defends His special relationship with Moses and justifies why He is more honored than others.

In the end, Moses further proves his humility by advocating for his accusers before God, asking Him to reverse Miriam’s punishment. Do I have the kind of humility that enables me to be quiet before my accusers and even to show them mercy when it is in my power to do so? Do I have the kind of relationship with God and am I so secure in my calling that He can come to my defense when I am accused and justify me? Do I trust Him to do that or do I let my pride and insecurity show by trying to defend myself?

May I be so secure in my relationship with God and my obedience to Him that I do not need to defend myself when I stand wrongly accused, but may I be able to trust that God will defend me Himself.

Leave a comment